How to Add a Page or Text Border in Microsoft Word: 3 Ways
发布时间:2026-08-17 | 浏览:1
PRO Courses Hot Guides Tech Help Pro Expert Videos About wikiHow Pro Upgrade
QUIZZES All Quizzes Hot Love Quizzes Personality Quizzes Trivia Quizzes Taylor Swift Quizzes
EXPLORE Tech Help Pro About Us Random Article Quizzes Request a New Article Community Dashboard Trending Forums Arts and Entertainment Artwork Books Movies Computers and Electronics Computers Phone Skills Technology Hacks Health Men's Health Mental Health Women's Health Relationships Dating Love Relationship Issues Hobbies and Crafts Crafts Drawing Games Education & Communication Communication Skills Personal Development Studying Personal Care and Style Fashion Hair Care Personal Hygiene Quizzes Love Quizzes Personality Quizzes Fun Games Arts and Entertainment Finance and Business Home and Garden Relationship Quizzes Cars & Other Vehicles Food and Entertaining Personal Care and Style Sports and Fitness Computers and Electronics Health Pets and Animals Travel Education & Communication Hobbies and Crafts Philosophy and Religion Work World Family Life Holidays and Traditions Relationships Youth
LOG IN Log in Social login does not work in incognito and private browsers. Please log in with your username or email to continue. Facebook Google wikiHow Account No account yet? Create an account
Browse Articles
Quizzes & Games
All Quizzes Hot
Personality Quizzes
Dating Simulator
Learn Something New
Support wikiHow
Log in / Sign up
Computers and Electronics
Microsoft Office
Last Updated: February 19, 2026 Fact Checked
Adding a Page Border (Windows)
Adding a Page Border (Mac)
Adding a Text Border
This article was co-authored by wikiHow staff writer, Rain Kengly . Rain is a tech writer and editor for wikiHow with over 5 years of professional writing experience. In the past, Rain has worked with other creative writers as a Writing Tutor at San Francisco State University and has published gaming features, guides, and news articles for a variety of media outlets. Rain shares a lifelong passion for writing and gaming and is eager to grow alongside new tech inventions. This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources. This article has been viewed 1,198,790 times. Learn more...
Do you want to make an outside border in your Microsoft Word documents? You can easily add a solid or dotted border to an entire page or selected content. You can also use Microsoft Word's included designs to create an artistic border for themed event flyers. This wikiHow will show you how to create a border around text, images, or pages in Microsoft Word using your Windows or Mac computer.
Creating a Border in Microsoft Word
To add a page border, click "Design" → "Page Borders". Select a border setting, style, and page application. Click "OK". To add a border around content, select the content. Click the "Home" tab, then the arrow. Click "Borders and Shading…" and select as style.
Adding a Page Border (Windows)
1 Open a project in Microsoft Word. This looks like a W on top of a blue square. Microsoft Word is available to install for Windows . [1] X Trustworthy Source Microsoft Support Technical support and product information from Microsoft. Go to source You must have a subscription to use Office 365. Use this method to add a lined border around a Microsoft Word document. This is different from changing the margins .
You must have a subscription to use Office 365.
Use this method to add a lined border around a Microsoft Word document. This is different from changing the margins .
2 Click Design . This will be in the top toolbar, between Draw and Layout . Advertisement
3 Click Page Borders . You can find this at the left side of the Design section, next to Page Color . It will have an icon of a page with a yellow border. A new window will open.
A new window will open.
4 Click Page Border . This is the middle tab on the Borders and Shading window. You may already be on this tab.
5 Select a border setting. In the left-most column, click the border option that you want to use. Select from: None, Box, Shadow, 3-D, and Custom. If you want a simple border to go all the way around your page, select Box . To add a border with fun images, click the Art drop-down menu and select from Word's art gallery. This border can be used for themed flyers for holidays and events.
If you want a simple border to go all the way around your page, select Box .
To add a border with fun images, click the Art drop-down menu and select from Word's art gallery. This border can be used for themed flyers for holidays and events.
6 Select a border style. In the "Style" column, scroll down until you find the border style you want to use, then click the style. Select from the various solid and dotted line styles. If needed, you can also change the border's color and width from the Color and Width drop-down menus, respectively.
If needed, you can also change the border's color and width from the Color and Width drop-down menus, respectively.
7 Select pages to use. If you created a new section earlier in this method, click the "Apply to" drop-down box, then click the section to which you want to apply the border in the resulting drop-down menu. To apply the border to the first page of your section, click This section - first page only in the drop-down menu.
To apply the border to the first page of your section, click This section - first page only in the drop-down menu.
8 Click OK . It's at the bottom of the page. This will apply the border to your document's specified page(s).
Adding a Page Border (Mac)
1 Open a project in Microsoft Word . This looks like a W on top of a blue square. Microsoft Word is available to install for Mac. [2] X Trustworthy Source Microsoft Support Technical support and product information from Microsoft. Go to source You must have a subscription to use Office 365.
You must have a subscription to use Office 365.
2 Click Design . This will be in the top toolbar, between Draw and Layout .
3 Click Page Borders . You can find this at the left side of the Design section, next to Page Color . It will have an icon of a page with a yellow border. The Borders and Shading window will open, set to the Page Border tab. If it isn't already on the Page Border tab, click it now.
The Borders and Shading window will open, set to the Page Border tab. If it isn't already on the Page Border tab, click it now.
4 Select a border setting. In the left-most column, click the border option that you want to use. Select from: None, Box, Shadow, 3-D, and Custom. If you want a simple border to go all the way around your page, select Box . To add a border with fun images, click the Art drop-down menu and select from Word's art gallery. This border can be used for themed flyers for holidays and events.
If you want a simple border to go all the way around your page, select Box .
To add a border with fun images, click the Art drop-down menu and select from Word's art gallery. This border can be used for themed flyers for holidays and events.
5 Select a border style. In the "Style" column, scroll down until you find the border style you want to use, then click the style. Select from the various solid and dotted line styles. If needed, you can also change the border's color and width from the Color and Width drop-down menus, respectively.
If needed, you can also change the border's color and width from the Color and Width drop-down menus, respectively.
6 Select pages to use. If you created a new section earlier in this method, click the "Apply to" drop-down box, then click the section to which you want to apply the border in the resulting drop-down menu. To apply the border to the first page of your section, click This section - first page only in the drop-down menu.
To apply the border to the first page of your section, click This section - first page only in the drop-down menu.
7 Click OK . This is the blue button. This will apply the border to your document's specified page(s).
Adding a Text Border
1 Open a project in Microsoft Word. This looks like a W on top of a blue square.
2 Click Home . This is in the top toolbar, between File and Insert .
3 Select content. Click and drag your mouse across the text or image(s) around which you want to place a border. This method will place a border around an entire selection of images and text together. If you want to place a border around a single image, double-click the image. Select a preset style from the Picture Styles section, or click Picture Border to set the color, weight, and design of the border. [3] X Trustworthy Source Microsoft Support Technical support and product information from Microsoft. Go to source
This method will place a border around an entire selection of images and text together.
If you want to place a border around a single image, double-click the image. Select a preset style from the Picture Styles section, or click Picture Border to set the color, weight, and design of the border. [3] X Trustworthy Source Microsoft Support Technical support and product information from Microsoft. Go to source
4 Click next to the "Borders" button. The Borders button resembles a square divided into four smaller squares; you'll find it in the "Paragraph" section of options in the toolbar, just right of the paint bucket icon. A drop-down menu will open. On a Mac, click the Format menu item at the top of the screen instead.
On a Mac, click the Format menu item at the top of the screen instead.
5 Click Borders and Shading… . It's at the bottom of the drop-down menu. A new window will open. On a Mac, you'll find this option in the middle of the Format drop-down menu.
On a Mac, you'll find this option in the middle of the Format drop-down menu.
6 Select a border setting. In the left-most column, click the border option that you want to use. Select from: None, Box, Shadow, 3-D, and Custom. If you want a simple border to go all the way around your text, select Box .
If you want a simple border to go all the way around your text, select Box .
7 Select a border style. In the "Style" column, scroll down until you find the border style you want to use, then click the style. Select from the various solid and dotted line styles. If needed, you can also change the border's color and width from the Color and Width drop-down menus, respectively. To add a border with images, click the Art drop-down menu and select a design.
If needed, you can also change the border's color and width from the Color and Width drop-down menus, respectively.
To add a border with images, click the Art drop-down menu and select a design.
8 Select pages to use. If you created a new section earlier in this method, click the "Apply to" drop-down box, then click the section to which you want to apply the border in the resulting drop-down menu. To apply the border to the first page of your section, click This section - first page only in the drop-down menu.
To apply the border to the first page of your section, click This section - first page only in the drop-down menu.
9 Click OK . This will apply the border to your document's specified page(s). Be sure to save your document when you're finished. You can also use Microsoft Word to create a booklet or another handout flyer.
Be sure to save your document when you're finished.
You can also use Microsoft Word to create a booklet or another handout flyer.
Question How can I place a border around a picture I've inserted into a document? Community Answer You do what is shown above, but instead, you click on the picture before you go through the steps. Thanks! We're glad this was helpful. Thank you for your feedback. If wikiHow has helped you, please consider a small contribution to support us in helping more readers like you. We’re committed to providing the world with free how-to resources, and even $1 helps us in our mission. Support wikiHow Yes No Not Helpful 7 Helpful 18
Question How do I put a border around a table in Microsoft Word? Community Answer Go into Format --> Borders and Shading. There you'll find options for borders you can apply to the table. Thanks! We're glad this was helpful. Thank you for your feedback. If wikiHow has helped you, please consider a small contribution to support us in helping more readers like you. We’re committed to providing the world with free how-to resources, and even $1 helps us in our mission. Support wikiHow Yes No Not Helpful 8 Helpful 5
Question What three options can I set regarding a picture border? Community Answer The three option you can set are: small, medium and large. Thanks! We're glad this was helpful. Thank you for your feedback. If wikiHow has helped you, please consider a small contribution to support us in helping more readers like you. We’re committed to providing the world with free how-to resources, and even $1 helps us in our mission. Support wikiHow Yes No Not Helpful 3 Helpful 7
You Might Also Like
↑ https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/add-a-border-to-a-page-82c2078a-af86-4f5a-ae2a-517164ba5801#ID0EBBBBD=Windows
↑ https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/add-a-border-to-a-page-82c2078a-af86-4f5a-ae2a-517164ba5801#ID0EBBBBD=macOS
↑ https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/add-and-remove-picture-borders-8dc91888-35f9-4bf4-9e0c-8e26d10b53bd
About This Article
Send fan mail to authors
Is this article up to date?
Quizzes & Games
You Might Also Like
Trending Articles
Trending Articles
Take the Quiz. Face the Truth. 🔥
Are You More... 🤔
Featured Videos
Hot Takes Only 🔥
Your Daily Dose of Fun 🎉
Computers and Electronics
Microsoft Office
Do Not Sell or Share My Info
Not Selling Info
wikiHow Tech Help Pro:
Level up your tech skills and stay ahead of the curve